Friday, November 20, 2009

December 3 concert: Boris Andrianov - friends in town series

As we enjoy here in the Angelic City of ours a constellation of extraordinary talent that we so often enjoy within our Classical Underground platform, we often miss our good friends, some going many ears back, but who visit us rarely. Those who were fortunate enough to stay till midnight at March 2nd concert to hear our dear friend Boris Andrianov, know what I am talking about.

As my painting path taks me to far corners of the World as of late, we almost missed each other with Boris this time around... and I simply couldn't stand the thought of missing one of my personal favorite musicians of our time.

Well, as the main premise of Classical Underground is to showcase the greatest "Classical" has to offer, as, in our view, the only way ART can exist, and we never flinch to experiment to this end as we enjoy the journey - we are extremely excited to announce the Classical Underground Special - our new "Friends in Town Showcase" ... and yes, our first offering is Boris Andrianov and Friends!!!!!

Guest star:
Boris Andrianov - cello
together with:
Elizavetta Andrianov - piano
Yana Reznik - piano
Roberto Cani - violin

The program to be announced at the concert - Boris Andrianov carte blanche and the Shostakovich piano trio.

Since the last time reservation and admission process worked out, we ask you to pre-pay for your entrance even if you would like to come later in the evening - with PayPal (accepts all credit cards and bank accounts). Your pre-payment will be your reservation. Please bring the receipt to the concert please. Sorry, no refunds.

we are sold out!

Monday, November 9, 2009

November 9 Programme

alexey steele presents
November 9, 2009
Chamber music series
Music director Maksim Velichkin

Jörg Widmann "Air"
Ben Jaber-horn

J.Brahms Waltz Medley Opus 39
F.Chopin Fantaisie Impromptu
Improvisation off a Chopin Nocturne

Rex Lewis-Clack-piano

P. Tchaikovsky Meditation
Lyudmila Adzhemova -violin
Maksim Velichkin-piano

M.Ravel Ondine
W. Bolcom Serpent's Kiss Ragtime

Georgi Slavchev-piano

J.S. Bach Sarabande from Suite no.6
N.Paganini Caprice #17

August Lee -cello

N. Burgmüller Duo op.15
Sergei Vassilyev-clarinet
Harout Senekeremian-piano

Duke Ellington T.G.T.T. from Second Sacred Service
Tricia Oney-lyric soprano

F.Liszt Rhapsody # 12
Yana Reznik-piano


J.S. Bach Invention (arrangement with viola)
Serge Oskotsky-cello, Alexander Gurevich-viola

P.Hindemith duo for 2 cellos
Serge Oskotsky-cello, Maksim Velichkin-cello

F.Liszt Funerailles
Soo Lee-piano

Schumann Adagio and Allegro
"Duo Esperanza"

Joo Lee-cello
Soo Lee-piano

I.Albeniz : from "Iberia":
El Puerto

Regulo Martinez-piano

J. Williams Theme from "Schindler's List"
S. Prokofiev March from "The Love For Three Oranges"

Saschka Haberl-violin
Yana Reznik-piano

N.Kapustin Variations Op 41
Harout Senekeremian-piano



focusing on a classical art form of serious contemporary representational art

CU Painter: Leonid Steele

Today's my Dad's birthday...he turned 88, a Great Man, a Warrior of Art, Maestro and Living Classic...he come to the studio today and we painted a nude.

It was special indeed...he blasted half of 18" X 24" before we even got to set up...he wrote a poem tonight, in Russian of course, but the meaning of it was that time has no power over feeling and once you go just by your feeling, you remain eternally young...he should know

This is a portrait of my grandmother he did in 1954.

Portrait of Mother 31" x 39" oil on canvas

A deep realist who transformed through his humanist eye the collective artistic effort of his generation into timeless images that speak to us now, Classical Underground celebrates the life-long work of a Master for whom ART was and is a way of LIFE.

Thursday, November 5, 2009

November 9 is Sold Out

It never seizes to amaze us, but we are sold out of all allocated spaces by 12:30 p.m.

Thank you for your support and appreciation of Classical Underground platform. We hope to see you all at our future events that are in the works.